West Palm Beach DUI Attorney
Aggressive Legal Defense for Florida DUI/DWI Charges
If convicted of driving under the influence—DUI—in Florida, you can face serious penalties, including jail time and the potential to lose your driving privileges. At The Pakett Law Group, PA, our West Palm Beach DUI lawyer understands that your future is at risk.
Should You Get a Lawyer for a DUI in Florida?
In Florida, hiring a lawyer is highly recommended for your DUI and any drunk driving offense. DUI laws are complex and carry severe consequences. A DUI lawyer can help minimize the court-imposed fees and the long-term effect a DUI can have on your life.
As your advocate, Attorney Brian Pakett and his legal team will create a personalized defense to help defend your rights. Our West Palm Beach DUI lawyers have successfully assisted countless clients in obtaining favorable resolutions to their DUI cases and are here to help you through this trying time as well.
Our criminal defense lawyers serve clients in West Palm Beach as well as Rivera Beach, Boynton Beach, and Lake Worth, FL.
Understanding Florida DUI Charges
In the state of Florida, a motorist can be charged with a DUI for operating a vehicle while "under the influence" of drugs and/or with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or above.
How are DUI Charges Determined in Florida?
DUI charges are serious crimes and require exceptional criminal defense. Prosecutors will take into consideration a variety of aspects when charging you with a DUI, including:
- how much alcohol was in your system at the time of your arrest,
- if your driving caused any accidents or injuries,
- and how fast or otherwise recklessly you were driving.
How Long Does a DUI Case Take in Florida?
A DUI case in Florida can take up to six months to process through the court system. This process includes processing, court cases, and sentencing.
Most Florida DUIs are misdemeanors, and the average misdemeanor in Florida takes three to six months to resolve. The timeline can vary depending on your zip code and the case's complexity.
These and other factors could leave you facing a misdemeanor, felony crimes, or even an extreme case such as intoxication assault or intoxication manslaughter.
Florida Implied Consent Law
Florida's Implied Consent law states that any individual who accepts the privileges of driving in Florida has given their consent to submit to lawful requests for chemical or physical testing, such as urine or breath tests, in order to determine the alcohol content of their blood or breath.
This can include testing for controlled substances.
DUI Penalties in Florida
Penalties for DUIs are typically also based on whether this is a first or subsequent offense. For example:
- First-time offenders face one year of probation, 50 hours of community service, and a ten-day vehicle impoundment. They may also have to pay a fine and/or serve time in jail if the driver had a minor passenger in the vehicle with them and/or a BAC of .15% or more.
- Second offenders can face a minimum of ten days in jail, five-year license revocation, 30-day vehicle impoundment, and fines.
- Third offenders are charged with a felony if the DUI occurs within ten years of a prior. This will require between one month to five years in jail, a 90-day vehicle impoundment, a ten-year driver's license revocation, and potential fines.
Whether you are a minor or an adult, a commercial driver or a civilian, you need to have an experienced criminal defense attorney on your side.
Do You Lose Your License Immediately After a DUI in Florida?
Yes, your Florida driver's license is suspended immediately after being arrested for a DUI. You can use your DUI ticket as a temporary permit to drive for ten days, starting from the day of your arrest.
During this time, you can request an administrative hearing to determine if the officer had probable cause to arrest you.
Call a trusted West Palm Beach DUI lawyer as soon as you are arrested.
What is the 10 Day Rule For a DUI in Florida?
The 10-day rule for DUI in Florida refers to the deadline for requesting a hearing to challenge the administrative suspension of your license.
If you are arrested for DUI and refuse to take a breathalyzer or blood test or take the test and register a BAC of .08% or higher, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) will suspend your license automatically.
In order to challenge this administrative suspension, you must request a hearing with the DHSMV within 10 days of your arrest.
If you fail to request a hearing during this 10-day period, it will result in the automatic suspension of your license.
Can You Get a DUI Expunged in Florida?
You cannot get a DUI conviction sealed or expunged in Florida, but you may be able to seal or expunge a DUI arrest. Our DUI attorney in West Palm Beach may be able to help, contact us today!
West Palm Beach DUI Lawyer Fighting for Clients
In West Palm Beach, at The Pakett Law Group, PA, our DUI lawyer understands that this time in your life can be difficult, and will work quickly and efficiently to help provide you with personalized defense. Our DUI defense lawyers take the time to listen to you, we do not rush your intake process, and we keep your best interests in mind.
Florida DUI Resources
FDLE Alcohol Testing Program - Florida Department of Law Enforcement
If you want a lawyer that will do everything to help you, Brian Pakett is the lawyer for you.
- Not Afraid to Fight For You in Court
- Quick Response Time for All Clients
- Easily Available in Your Time of Need